Party party party!

Welcome! Come in, come in. So glad you could make it.

You’ve arrived at the online launch of new picture book Snowy’s Christmas. David and I are so pleased you could make it.

Before we start the formalities, please help yourself to a snack – we have on offer vegemite sandwiches or lamingtons, straight from the Aussie kitchen. And to drink, for the adults there’s some nice Margaret River chardonnay to sip. If you’re under 18, please accept some Cottee’s cordial. Oh, and feel free to mingle and enjoy the very Aussie opportunity to have a yarn with some mates.

Okay, that’s enough frivolity. Now on to the speeches. We’ll try to keep them short.

Firstly , let me introduce myself.

option4.

Yup, this is me – Sally Murphy. I’m a West Aussie author, teacher, mother and book reviewer.
I’ve been writing all my life and Snowy is my twenty ninth published book, but it’s the first time I’ve been fortunate enough to work with Random House and with David, my talented brother in law, so today is a pretty special day for me. I’m really glad you could make it along to celebrate with me.

So, let me tell you a bit about the wonderful book we are here to launch. ((Sally holds books up, to many oohs and aahhs))
SnowysChristmas_PaperBackCover.indd

Snowy’s Christmas tells the tale of a young kangaroo who doesn’t like being different, until Christmas arrives and, with it, a surprise for Snowy. There is something that only Snowy can do to help Santa – and suddenly he knows that being different can be a good thing. Available as a hard cover picture book, Snowy’s Christmas is a gentle Christmas story suitable for kids of all ages. You can learn a little more about the book by visit the website of publisher Random House Australia.

Now that you’ve seen the book, I think it’s time to declare it officially launched. So, without further ado I would like to set Snowy free to bound across Australia and around the world. And, ladies and gentlemen, if you could please raise your glasses and drink a toast – to Snowy.

Thankyou. And now just a few words of thanks. Of course I’d like to thank you all for coming, but I’d also like to thank the wonderful Linsay Knight, children’s publisher at Random House who sat next to David and me at a breakfast at last year’s CBCA conference and said ‘you two should do a book together’. When a publisher makes a comment like that, an author thinks all her dreams have come true – and, of course, I was pretty determined to make it happen. Linsay loved the manuscript I subsequently offered, and David’s sample illustrations, and we were delighted with her subsequent acceptance.

Next, to Kimberley, our editor, who patiently helped me to trim the manuscript and worked with David to fine tune the illustrations. Thanks Kimberley.

And, of course, to David – who brought Snowy to life so beautifully. It’s been such fun to share this journey with you.

Lastly, to my family and friends, who believe in me and put up with me through the highs and lows of the creative life. I love you all.
((Sally dabs her eyes delicately.))

David, would you like to say a few words? This is David Murphy, my darling brother in law and illustrator extraordinaire. Over to you, David.

Dave at work

Mmmmph Ummmp hwfmph ishmplwph hmphwsh
(Translation – Sorry Sally, just let me finish this lamington. You know how much I love lamingtons.)

I’ve often been accused of having a few kangaroos loose in the top paddock. I can now confirm this is indeed the case and many of them are white. I have been living with Snowy and his adventures in my head since Sally first showed me her fantastic story. It was an absolute joy to be able to capture the images Sally’s story evoked and share them with the world. My wife would often come in to the studio whilst I was working on Snowy and ask me what I was laughing at. The truth was I was laughing along with Snowy and his friends. Illustrating Snowy’s Christmas was some of the best fun I have ever had.

Illustrating a picture book is fun but it is also hard work – it was made much easier thanks to the efforts of Kimberley and Linsay from Random House. Kimberley’s eye for detail and gentle encouragement helped me stay focused on the heart of the story. I would also like to thank my children who would peer over my shoulder and try and work out what was going on in the picture – they kept me from getting too fancy, and my darling wife who would gently remind me ‘Dave, it’s 4am. I think you should put the pencil down and get some sleep.’

Christmas stories are special. Australian Christmas stories are very special because the festive season here is so unique. Warm Christmas eves, the sounds and smells of the bush on hot a Christmas day, and of course back yard cricket on Boxing day. Australian culture does interesting things to our European traditions and Christmas has been no exception – so it is an honour to illustrate a book which adds a little bit to that tradition and brings to life something which I had always suspected. What is that? Well, you’ll have to read the book to find out.

Thanks Dave.

Okay, I can see some of you eyeing off those lamingtons and wondering if I’m ever going to stop speaking, so I’ll just finish by saying again, thanks for coming to this launch. Snowy’s Christmas is available from today at all good book stores (if they haven’t got it, ask) or online at stores including Booktopia.

Before you go, please have another Vegemite sandwich, or perhaps you’d like one of the snags Dave is cooking on the barbie outside? And please, leave a comment below so we know you’ve been here.

32 Comments »

  1. 1
    Yae Says:

    Hi Sally and David,

    Congratulations on the launch of ‘Snowy’s Christmas’. It’s a beautiful book and I’m very excited to be able to work with you two on this project!

    Cheers,
    Yae

    P.S The lamingtons are delicious!

  2. 2
    deescribewriting Says:

    Wow Sally and Dave, what a wonderful launch …all my favourite party things; lamingtons, Margaret River wine, a great story and fabulous hosts.

    Congratulations to you and Snowy on this very special occasion, and thanks for sharing your special journey. I loved reading about Snowy and how he found his place in the world. I’m so excited that in two days time I’ll be catching up with you both for the start of your blog tour at my place http://deescribewriting.wordpress.com

    And I couldn’t wait to read about Snowy’s adventures, so I’ve already written my review, and that will be up at my blog tomorrow. Keep partying Sally and Dave….and keep bouncing Snowy…all the way to Christmas.

    Thanks for the invite. Can’t stop for a snag, but I might just grab another lammy on the way out.

    Dee:-)

  3. 3
    Zoe Says:

    *raises lamington*
    Three cheers for Snowy! Three cheers for Sally! Three cheers for David!
    *eats lamington*

  4. 4
    aussiechristmas Says:

    Thanks everyone. the best thign about holding a party is all the fabulous company – and you guys are no exception. let me refill those glasses.
    Jellycake anyone? Or perhaps a meringue?

  5. 5
    Claire Says:

    Congratulations to you both on the release of Snowy’s Christmas. May she bound high and long through this Christmas and Christmas’ to come.

    Claire
    who says yes please to lamingtons and a chilled white.

  6. 6
    Trudie Trewin Says:

    Congratulations Sally and David. Christmas day is my favourite day of the year, and reading about your book has made me wish it was here already. There is something special about an aussie christmas… oh dear, all that chardy during the speeches is starting to get me all emotional just thinking about it! Can’t wait to read about Snowy’s Christmas.
    Cheers

  7. 7
    Karen Says:

    Happy book launch, Snowy! Sounds like he’s had a wonderful journey from conception right through to ‘birth’. What a wonderful occasion for your extended family as well. I might just have a lamington and a glass of red Cottee’s cordial (that’s as adventurous as I get) to celebrate…

    Cheers!

  8. 8
    Lance and Peta Says:

    Congratulaions to you both….. looking forward to obtaining a copy or two and sharing with the family. xx

  9. 9
    Kay Says:

    Well done Sally, David and Snowy.

    Hey Snowy! I’m sending more kangaroos to your party. At our place they’re starving from lack of food they’re chewing our plants and ripping up the lawn. Please let them bound to stardom with you.

  10. […] Party party party! « The Aussie Christmas Blog aussiechristmas.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/party-party-party – view page – cached You’ve arrived at the online launch of new picture book Snowy’s Christmas. David and I are so pleased you could make it. — From the page […]

  11. 11
    Kimberley Says:

    Hip hip hooray for Sally, Dave and Snowy!

    What a great idea for a launch. So glad the wait is over and Snowy is finally out there for everyone to admire.

    Congratulations to you both for a truly gorgeous book, and thank you for letting me share in the fun of helping Snowy bound out into the world!

    (And yum – love a good snag and lamington.)

  12. 12
    Mary Says:

    Thanks for the Chardy – will raise a virtual glass of saem with Helen tonight – to Snowy, Sally and David – and big guy with the white beard in the corner. Hmmmm – is that really coconut on the lammos!

  13. 13
    Jackie Hosking Says:

    What a lovely launch for a lovely gal and her lovely book! Can’t wait to read it – after I’ve read Pearl.

    Just visited Dave’s site – maybe he’d like to be profiled in PIO?

    Enjoy the rest of your day 🙂

  14. 14
    soupblog Says:

    Hop Hop Hooray! Congrats on the launch Sally and Dave -can’t wait to read Snowy’s Christmas.

  15. 15
    sarahhazelton Says:

    Congratulations on the launch of this lovely book, Sally and Dave!

    *sidles up to the lamington table*

  16. 16
    aussiechristmas Says:

    Thanks everybody. My mum has just arrived with a giant pavlova, so step this way for a slice. Lashings of fresh whipped cream and her yummy strawberries with sugary juice. Remember, virtual calories don’t count!

  17. 17
    Mary Murphy Says:

    Congratulations to my 2 very talented family members. so happy for you both.

  18. 18

    Hi Sally and David – Congratulations on the launch of Snowy, i love any stories about our wonderful and precious country. I’m so looking forward to reading it. Thanks for the lamington, I’d better stop talking cos’ the coconut sometimes makes me choke!

  19. 19
    Penni Says:

    Congratulations, Sally.
    Oh look, someone I know! *stands next to Sarah at lamington table*

  20. 20
    Angela Sunde Says:

    Congratulations, Sally and David. Thanks for inviting me. Looks like I’m just in time for the pavlova.

    • 21
      Michael Says:

      Congratulations Sally and David!

      Sorry I was late – got caught up in cyber traffic.

      A fantastic launch for a great book!

      (Sorry about the wine I spilled on the carpet. Someone bumped me. I think some of these people have had a bit too much to drink!)

      Cheers
      Michael

  21. 22
    Carol Warner Says:

    Congratulations, Sally & David. What a wonderful launch in the company of so many beautiful friends and family. I can’t wait to read all about Snowy. And what a wonderful Christmas present ‘Snowy’ will make for my little grandsons.
    Cheers!

  22. 23

    Congratulations Sally, David, and Snowy. Thanks so much for the invitation. It was great to visit, raise a toast, and not suffer the jet lag!

  23. 24
    Lesley Says:

    Congratulations Sally and David.
    Hope to see Snowy in Japan, can he bring the lammos.

  24. Thanks for the invite (I love a juicy virtual lamington). Congratulations to you both – I can’t wait to track down a copy. And what a perfect Christmas present! It’s already on my list…

  25. 26
    Trish Says:

    Congratulations, Sally. I can’t wait to read it. What a great Christmas present for the kids in my family.

    I enjoyed the lamington too, but now you’ve ruined my diet. I should have just had the vegemite sandwich. 🙂

  26. 27
    Julie Long Says:

    Congratulations on the virtual launch. I had a great time and look forward to attending more in the future.

  27. 28

    Hi Sally -congrats on the launch of Snowy! I had two book launches at Dalton’s in Canberra earlier this year and during a recent Roald Dahl Day I helped organise with Meredith, she told me about the launch of Snowy at Dalton’s and it’s so exciting! I do hope to come along to see your beautiful new book.
    Warmest wishes,
    Tania McCartney

  28. 29

    Just my luck, I only discovered there was a party the day after.
    Congratulations on your new book Sally and Dave.
    Just out at the right time for Christmas sales.
    Best regards,
    Marg

  29. 30

    Hi Sally and David,
    I have been terribly behind in my Tweets so just found all the info on your launch. So sorry I missed it, would have been there in person if I could.
    My sincerest congratulations on the launch of Snowy – I’m sure he will fly
    in leaps and bounds. As you know I truly believe picture books are the best. Wishing you both every success with this beautiful book.
    Corinne xx

  30. 31
    Mabel Says:

    So sorry I’m late! (Thank you, I’d love a vegemite sandwich. Don’t you just love the way the vegemite flavours your lips for hours after?) What a wonderful launch. I wish ‘down to earth’ parties were as easy to clean up after as the cyber ones.
    Now time to put your feet up and enjoy the rest of the ride.
    Congratulations and best wishes Sally, David and Snowy all the way to Christmas.
    Mabel K

  31. 32
    melissa murphy Says:

    I am so pleased to you both, my wonderful and talented brother and sister in law, the book looks great and I look forward to adding this one to my small collection, love you guys Mx


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

